Hello and Welcome

Welcome to my new blog. I am going to be posting some of my photography, my general musing and at least one or two political rants from time to time.

As far as intros go, here’s mine. I’m Scott, a photographer, writer, designer about to graduate from the University of Oregon (Go Ducks!) in wonderfully rainy Eugene, Oregon. I have worked for newspapers and magazines in Oregon, Pennsylvania and Ghana. I also helped run a full-blown music magazine called Independent Clauses for over four years.

I love baseball, and you’ll probably hear about my god-awful Baltimore Orioles from time to time (maybe they won’t be god-awful this year?). I also love music (hence the music magazine history). Post-hardcore, hardcore, punk, emo (yes, don’t laugh), indie, alt-rock. Basically if it has guitars I’m pretty happy.

Right now I’m working for Flux Magazine as a photographer and multimedia producer. We have great stories coming from some of the best writers, designers and photographers at the University of Oregon, so I’ll be sure to keep links to those stories coming.

For now I’ll be posting one of my photographs every few days and giving a bit of back story on the photos. Let’s start in Ghana.

I took this photo in Accra, Ghana just outside of the Circle Tro Tro station during a political protest organized by the minority New Patriotic Party (NPP) and the political action group, the Alliance for Accountable Government, which, though non-partisian, has been particularly hard on the current government led by President John Atta-Mills and the National Democratic Congress (NDC) because of corruption and broken economic promises from the 2008 presidential campaign.

I left my job at the Business and Financial Times to meet a friend and her editor for the protest but, because of traffic and the fact that I didn’t really know where I was going, I got to the protest just as it left the Circle and started on an almost five kilometer march through the business and government districts. As I caught up to the protest, I pulled my notepad out, wanting to get out my camera but unsure how the protesters would react.

Ghanaians are very skeptical of reporters (especially white or “obruni” reporters) and unfortunately as I was dressed in khakis and a button down shirt, I stood out as an obruni and as a reporter. But as I worried about standing out as a reporter people began to run up to me, asking my to write their signs down. Suddenly a man was next to me, asking if I had a camera.

“Yes,” I responded, “but I’ll keep it away,” trying to respect the Ghanaian myth that a photographer can control the soul of those he or she photographs.

“Get it out,” he yelled at me. “Show the world what is happening here.”

I suddenly realized that many of those protesting wanted me to photograph them. A lot of them believed I worked for CNN but many just wanted an obruni to see that Africa didn’t always resort to violence.

As I crossed a side street that was packed with cars, waiting for the protest to pass, the man pictured ran up, and took a baseball slide in front of the cars. They began honking (either in encouragement or in anger, I’m really not sure) and I snapped off a single frame before the man got up and took off.

– Scott

About scottclandis

Scott Landis is a tablet magazine developer and strategist currently writing about the industry from Eugene, Oregon. He was the Editor-in-Chief for OR Magazine, the first iPad exclusive magazine produced by students using Adobe's InDesign 5.5 and the Digital Publishing Suite. He was previously the Senior Editor and staff writer for online music magazine Independent Clauses from 2004 to 2008. He has also been published as a photographer by multiple magazines and newspapers,
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

